The Epitome of the Sublime Preview

So my final for this course is my search for the ultimate scenery that can be described as sublime. As I have stated in other post before, the idea of the sublime is something that I can not help but find interesting. It makes me wonder how we come to decide what is and is not sublime and for what reasons. This of course is something we talked about in class, but I really wanted to explore the concept further.

Originally for my project, I was going to go around and ask a number of people to create their ideal landscape by creating a collage, drawing, or painting of some sort. Then I realized that in doing so I may not get as much participation as I would like since that took up a bit more time that everyone didnt have in these final weeks of school.

Then I spoke to Professor Wacker and came across Komar and Melamid. Two Russian artist that basically already did what I was setting out to do myself. They surveyed different countries and got a “Most” wanted and “Least” wanted painting. I realized then that a survey was just easier and went out surveying and got approximately 35 people to participate. It was a lot more work to do on my own than I realized but I read and collected the answers from those surveys and went on to create my own most wanted landscape for the sublime by using the top responses from my questions.

I wish I had the time to construct an image based off of all the results because it would have certainly been crazy!

Here’s a Link to my powerpoint!

http://portal.sliderocket.com/CRQRF/D3D2C5FE-D7F3-41A8-B136-60900BEB1322

AND, for your enjoyment, I have found out of another person who did this but with music. This is supposed to be the best song anyone can possibly imagine, and apparently its hard to hate it. I have to admit it is rather silly once the guy starts singing.

Lyrics

Woman:
Ooh, Yeah
Everyday I think of love
Thank the angels up from above
They sent you into my world
Baby, let me be your girl

Lying in the silken sheets
I think of ways that we might meet
I’d be so good by your side
Baby, let me be your bride

‘Cus I been going so wrong
And I’m thinkin’ maybe, baby
You’re the one to make me right

Baby, can you see?
You’re my fantasy

Man:
Joey was a travellin’ man
On a lane with a face like a baby
As you worked the night shift
In the bright lights down
On Washington

As she filled the ketchup jars
She looked at him like a rising sun
Shining down on his dark star
Shining for the love you want

‘Cos he’s been going so wrong
And he’s thinkin’ maybe, baby
You’re the one to make me right
Yeah, yeah

Both:
Baby, can’t you see?
You’re my fantasy

Man:
Maybe she likes reading Wittgenstein

Woman:
Fancy dinners, drinking good red wine

Man:
Simple living, in our own RV

Both:
Could it be that you’re exactly like me?
Oh yeah

Baby, can’t you see?
(Oh baby, baby, baby)
You’re my fantasy

Baby, can’t you see?
(You are my fantasy!)
You’re my fantasy
(Oh yeah, oh yeah, oh yeah!)

Baby, can’t you see?
(You’re my fantasy! Oh you are my fantasy!)
You’re my fantasy
(Baby!) (x4)

Baby, can’t you see?

(Can’t you see?) (x3)

You’re my fantasy
(You’re my fantasy! Oh you are my fantasy!)

Like I said it is pretty silly. . I can’t keep a straight face once I hear the male start singing. This was constructed the same exact way komar and melamid’s survey was, but hey I cant hate the saxophone.

One thought on “The Epitome of the Sublime Preview

Leave a Reply

