Savages: Humans or Nature

I just could not resist. As soon as I read the first couple of pages from William Cronon’s “The Trouble with Wilderness”, I immediately thought about Pocahontas. I know it may sound a bit childish, but it doesn’t hurt to go down memory lane as long as it pertains to class. Right?

Other than my love for this movie, I also think it has a lot of truth to it when it pertains to nature and how we treat or use nature.

In Cronon’s essay, he says that,

[. . .] we mistake ourselves when we suppose that wilderness can be the solution to our culture’s problematic relationships with the nonhuman world, for wilderness is itself no small part of the problem.

In class, we were asked to get into groups and decipher portions of Cronon’s essay. What does he mean? What is the trouble with wilderness? In my opinion, we are the trouble with wilderness.

Leave a Reply

