Special Photos from the National Parks

I enjoyed meeting everyone in class yesterday. In the spirit of nostalgia and childhood memories, I have decided to post a winning picture from my past.

This is me and my sister, standing near the ridge of the Grand Canyon, circa 1995 (I think).  As you can see, my parents had a penchant for lining us up directly in the sun for pictures.  I was also a Buffalo Bills fan.  The photos from my many trips to Yosemite will remain in the vault! Who else has some great pictures from past visits to national parks?

In other news, I have placed a copy of Ken Burns’s The National Parks:  America’s Best Idea on reserve at the Carmichael Library.  If you ever want to watch sections of this DVD, you can check it out for one day at a time.  There’s no way that you’ll be able to see the entire film in one day unless you plan a marathon (not recommended), but you should at least get to see enough to get an idea of Burns’s work.  We’ll be showing other selected clips in class later in the semester, so don’t worry, you haven’t seen the last of The National Parks yet.

One thought on “Special Photos from the National Parks

Leave a Reply

